Hi all!! well I’m back again with another challenge given by our wonderful host Terrie @decorateandmorewithtip. You can find her link below! You will LOVE her!!!!!

This months challenge is going to be for all those stacked book lovers out there. So the challenge is that we must use three books and do what ever we like with them! Yay! So guys I’ve teamed up again with some amazing and talented ladies! And boy are they talented so be sure to check them out, I’ve left all links to them at the end of this post!

Well I’ve been wanting to do another few chalk painted white books for my bedroom, so this challenge turned out perfect for me!

Items I purchased

  1. A few hard back books from my local thrift store for $3.00.
  2. A small roll of white burlap $2.00
  3. A black sharpie marker $2.00
  1. A small letter stencil $2.99

Items I had on hand

  1. White chalk paint
  2. Twine
  3. Gold ribbon
  4. Glue gun
  5. Metallic paint
  6. Sugar soap ( I always have this product under my sink)

So I first wiped the books down with a damp clothe and some sugar soap to make sure there was no grease on them. This product is so awesome guys I just love it!!

I left them to completely dry and got to the painting part…

This time I used a sharpie pen to trace out the letters and then just coloured them in by using the sharpie pen!! It’s so much easier than trying to dab the stencil with paint… I used self adhesive stencils (bonus) 🙂

Tip! No leakage, no washing the stencil and much faster if your a busy person like me!

I decided I wanted to put the burlap on the top , yep, just to be different from the other twenty books I’ve painted lol!! Yes you read that right , twenty!!!

Because the books are for my bedroom I took a favourite scripture of mine from Job 33 v 15-18 … I thought what better scripture could one have next to their pillow .. I put the scripture reference on the burlap and then just narrowed down the scripture to When deep sleep falls! This scripture talks about how God comes upon man in deep sleep and reviles things to us. This scripture is also very detailed in telling us that God let’s us know through dreams when we wrong do! Yes that’s right !! Therefore through the dream we can correct ourself , isn’t God awesome!!!

I wrapped the burlap around the books so they would stay stacked and in place then I used some twine and gold ribbon around the books to add some character and I also glued a piece of the gold ribbon at the top front of each book, I thought this looked nice. Here are the stenciled books

So this is how I styled my finished project . Let me know what you think?

Don’t forget to check out the other participants below! Terrie over at Decorate and More with Tip[/caption] Kelli over at Olympic Nest Patti over at Pandora’s Box Jessica over at Jessica B Simmons Sheri over at Sheri Martin Interiors Dani over at The Taborhood Danya over at Just Another Farmhouse Teresa over at Through a Vintage Door Hollie over at Heyitshod Shae over at Sweet Southern Grace

 

https://blueskyathome.com/how-to-decorate-with-books-in-your-home-decor

 

3 thoughts on “July Stacked Book Challenge

  1. Teresa, your stacked books look beautiful and your reference to the bible even more so. I also really liked how you trimmed each book with a bit of gold ribbon. This would make a lovely gift for my sister-in-law. May have to get going on some more stacked books for Christmas gifts. Pinning.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are now closed.